Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Ranger Pets Guide

Ranger Pet takes an active role in combat by providing damage or interactive skills for the player. During the character creation, each race offers three different pets, from which a ranger can choose one starting pet. Pet’s type determines which environments the pet is able to fight in: aquatic (underwater), terrestrial (land) and amphibious (can fight both on land and underwater). Rangers have two terrestrial and two aquatic pet slots. Amphibious pets can occupy either terrestrial or aquatic slots.

Each pet belongs to a species and each species belongs to a family which determines common skills and its general attributes. Each family has 3 common skills which are automatically used by the pet. Its species determines a pet’s unique skill.

Ranger Starting Pets

Asura:     Flamingo, Jungle Stalker, Marsh Drake
Charr:     Carrion Devourer, Jungle Stalker, Salamander Drake
Human:   Brown Bear, Jungle Stalker, River Drake
Norn:       Brown Bear, Alpine Wolf, Snow Leopard
Sylvari:    Blue Moa, Jungle Stalker, Fern Hound

How to get a new pet?
A ranger can charm (by pressing F) only animals with a name in the form “Juvenile < pet species >“. Once you charm a pet, you can access the pet management panel (by pressing K) where you can rename your pet and view its statistics. To rename a pet, click on the quill icon to the left of the pet name.

A pet’s level always match the ranger’s level, so you don’t have to waste your time on leveling a new pet. If your pet is defeated, you can switch to another pet by pressing F4. A defeated pet that was swapped out will be at full health when it is swapped back in.

Pet interaction bar
A pet command / interaction bar is located above the weapon skill bar. The ranger has limited control over the actions of their pet:
  • F1 commands the active pet to attack the current target.
  • F2 activates the species unique skill of the active pet.
  • F3 determines the current behavior of the pet.
  • Active — Attack what I am attacking.
    Passive — Don’t attack.
  • F4 calls the alternate animal to become the active pet with full health and all skills recharged. After swapping your dead pet the swap cooldown lasts ~ 40 seconds. Swapping a live pet in combat the swap cooldown lasts ~ 20 sec 
Source: mmorpg-life

Terrestrial Pets

Family: Bird – highest damage pets but long cast animation, increases movement speed by 33%




White Raven

Family: Boar – knocking your enemies down





Family: Canine – knocking down foes, slows the enemy’s movement by 50%

Alpine Wolf

Fern Hound


Krytan Drakehound


Family: Moa – healing, lowers the target’s defense

Black Moa

Blue Moa


Red Moa

White Moa

Family: Spider – immobilizing and poisoning your foe

Black Widow

Cave Spider

Forest Spider

Jungle Spider

Amphibious Pets

Family: Bear – high health, incoming damage reduction


Black Bear

Brown Bear


Polar Bear

Family: Devourer – ranged attacks, interrupting and poisoning nearby foe

Carrion Devourer

Lashtail Devourer

Whiptail Devourer

Family: Drake – AoE attacks

Ice Drake

Marsh Drake

River Drake

Salamander Drake

Reef Drake

Family: Feline – lowers the target’s defense, makes heavy damage


Jungle Stalker


Snow Leopard

Aquatic Pets

Family: Armor Fish – stunning foe

Armor Fish

Family: Jellyfish – regenerating allies and blinding foes

Blue Jellyfish

Rainbow Jellyfish

Red Jellyfish

Family: Shark – fearing foe, striking multiple times



Post a Comment